Entries Open for NZ Spirits Awards

2021 Spirits Awards judges

Presented by Spirits New Zealand Inc. and Distilled Spirits Aotearoa (NZ) Inc., the New Zealand Spirits Awards is a celebration of spirits in New Zealand, now in its fourth year.

The categories for the 2022 awards have been reworked to better reflect industry trends and now 15 trophies will be awarded in this year’s competition.

The categories are based upon the commonly held spirit groupings which define the style and process of spirit production.

The organisers reserve the right to move any entry into a different category (with the approval of the submitter), if there are not enough entries in any one category.

Each category will be recognised with Gold, Silver, Bronze and Double-Gold medals if appropriate.

The top performers are recognised with category awards of Trophy for Best New Zealand and Trophy for Best Overall in each category.

Trophies will also be awarded to winners of the New Zealand Emerging Product Award, New Zealand Packaging Design Award and an overarching New Zealand Innovation Award.

The 2022 trophy categories are:

London Dry Gin
Contemporary & Navy Strength Gin
Flavoured and Aged Gin

Botanical and Spiced Rum

Traditional (Scotch/ Irish)
North American (American/Canadian)
World Whisky


Botanical & Other Spirits
Tequila/Agave Spirits

Varietal Vodka
Flavoured and Aged Vodka

Entries close on Friday, 15 April 2022 and are open to all products that are commercially available in New Zealand at the time of NZ Spirits Awards presentation on 10th June 2022.